I’ve always dreamt of a balcony; for a cup of coffee in the sun, a self-sufficient supply of kitchen herbs, a happy home for my geraniums, picking my own tomatoes…

In London, where I lived for over a decade, you’d be extremely lucky to have a balcony, so it wasn’t until I settled in Berlin with its relative abundance of affordable fin de siècle housing stock, that the dream came true. The first year, I impatiently made beginner’s mistakes: throwing out the plants to fry at the first sign of sun, underestimating the amount of watering required for terracotta pots – and one day in mid June I came home from work to find
the façade covered in scaffolding, which in turn enveloped the balcony in shade and dust for most of the summer.

This year, not only am I better prepared, I’ve also found myself becoming ever so slightly obsessed… The blog is meant to chronicle what works and what doesn’t – without boring friends and family to tears in the process.

