ImageThis time of year, I’m expanding the theme slightly. Although I have no intention to branch out just yet, I live only a few blocks away from the giant unused airfield Tempelhof, and I’m considering at least entering my name on the waiting list for the organic urban garden, established on a corner of the field in 2011. The garden consists of raised flower and vegetable beds; in the spirit of container gardening everything should be movable, but there is also the fear of lingering fuel in the soil. These photos were taken in September and show some of the allotment site’s anarchic feel.tempelhof guerillaAllmende Kontor on Tempelhof is far from the only urban farm in Berlin. Another community container garden, Prinzessinnengarten in Kreuzberg, has recently been permitted to stay.

